Errors

Computer and electronic gizmo support.
User avatar
NeilPearson
Prize Winning ARSE
Posts: 7167
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: Neil'sville
Contact:

Errors

Postby NeilPearson » Tue Jul 26, 2016 12:01 am

hey Guys just after some advice..

having some issues with my computer, i just formatted win10 because i was playing dirt rally and the game would just die on FPS. Start of a rally stage 60FPS end of it would be about 25 and the game would stay there until i quit and restarted.

So i cracked it and formatted the thing, now Im getting some weird hang time... just now I tried to open up chrome and it just wouldnt. just got the blue loading icon on the mouse, then that would disappear, went into task manager, closed down the 25 chrome processes and tried agian, still nothing. So i restarted my computer and it just wouldnt boot. it went into the repair mode and i just went restart anyway, and it finally got into windows, but it took 10 mins for windows 10 to actually load.

amongst other things, doing minor stuff in windows explorer can hang, deleting files, moving them, downloads in chrome can hang (doesnt download to ssd, a drive I just installed for data)

i did a SSD check with SSDLife and it comes up as 100% health and has an expectancy until 2025... its 4 years old already!

what Can I do to check hardware? what diagnostics can I run? really driving me nuts atm

hylas
Posts: 363
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 7:24 pm

Re: Errors

Postby hylas » Tue Jul 26, 2016 12:33 am

Maybe do a memtest and see if you get any errors. I would only really bother with the first pass, if it's rooted 99% of the time it'll show up almost immediately with errors.

User avatar
plastik8
Posts: 1152
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 1:10 pm
Location: Adelaide

Re: Errors

Postby plastik8 » Tue Jul 26, 2016 12:34 am

Agreed - Memtest86 to start.
ImageImage

Shonky
Posts: 5230
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 6:33 pm

Re: Errors

Postby Shonky » Tue Jul 26, 2016 8:09 am

Windows 10 is pretty good at detecting memory errors these days and even has it's own checker built in (windows+R and enter mdsched.exe), but my money is on a buggered SATA cable if it's not a drive issue.

Windows as I understand it, will wait forever and not throw any errors if data is continually failing CRC checks on a SATA cable, essentially making the computer look like it has hung.

User avatar
NeilPearson
Prize Winning ARSE
Posts: 7167
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: Neil'sville
Contact:

Re: Errors

Postby NeilPearson » Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:17 pm

I did the windows 10 Mem checker and it came up with no errors.

on reboot it took 10 minutes at this screen:

https://db.tt/qeTxx1Lm

that blue and white dash are new.. they haven't been there before. ill replace all my sata cables and report back in a few days..

Shonky
Posts: 5230
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 6:33 pm

Re: Errors

Postby Shonky » Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:29 pm

Try reseating some components as well Neil, graphics glitches like that do point to the graphics card being an issue.

User avatar
DarrenM
Posts: 6067
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Errors

Postby DarrenM » Tue Jul 26, 2016 11:07 pm

Any chance you've had heat issues? Dropping performance could be thermal throttling.

User avatar
NeilPearson
Prize Winning ARSE
Posts: 7167
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: Neil'sville
Contact:

Re: Errors

Postby NeilPearson » Thu Jul 28, 2016 11:14 pm

6 NEW Sata Cables later, reseated all but the cpu, blew out all the dust on everything. wasnt much there

it took 5 minutes to boot, but seems to be running better. Not hanging in windows explorer, files opening quicker. so thats a plus. just going to reboot it now.

User avatar
NeilPearson
Prize Winning ARSE
Posts: 7167
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: Neil'sville
Contact:

Re: Errors

Postby NeilPearson » Thu Jul 28, 2016 11:27 pm

I should Add these issues started when i changed to UEFI on the mobo.
I followed these instructions:
http://rog.asus.com/8962013/rampage-iv- ... ws-7-or-8/

then I created a RAID in uefi mode. So i sort of need it to stick around atm.

Shonky
Posts: 5230
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 6:33 pm

Re: Errors

Postby Shonky » Fri Jul 29, 2016 8:36 am

You lost me at UEFI & RAID...... but the 5 minutes start up could have been a repair Windows was performing.

One other thing came to mind last night, my sons GTX560 showed similar graphics glitches on boot for a couple of days before it dropped dead and kept tripping the power supply, not sure if the supply killed the card or the card killed the supply but it hasn't played up since replacing both components.

User avatar
Enforcer-J
Posts: 6511
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 11:16 pm
Location: right on your A.R.S.E.

Re: Errors

Postby Enforcer-J » Fri Jul 29, 2016 9:36 am

Image

Forget about graphics cards or anything else... the problem lies within the uefi bios or raid setup.

Did you update the uefi bios at all?

Shonky
Posts: 5230
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 6:33 pm

Re: Errors

Postby Shonky » Fri Jul 29, 2016 10:46 am

LOL!

User avatar
r8response
Cry baby
Cry baby
Posts: 8165
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast, QLD

Re: Errors

Postby r8response » Fri Jul 29, 2016 11:50 am

Balls up to the max.

User avatar
NeilPearson
Prize Winning ARSE
Posts: 7167
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: Neil'sville
Contact:

Re: Errors

Postby NeilPearson » Fri Jul 29, 2016 6:23 pm

Haha. I forgot I did it.

Updating bios atm. Its on the original...

User avatar
Enforcer-J
Posts: 6511
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 11:16 pm
Location: right on your A.R.S.E.

Re: Errors

Postby Enforcer-J » Fri Jul 29, 2016 7:19 pm

Hopefully that sorts it!

User avatar
NeilPearson
Prize Winning ARSE
Posts: 7167
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: Neil'sville
Contact:

Re: Errors

Postby NeilPearson » Fri Jul 29, 2016 9:41 pm

Nope. And my raid failed. Yay.

These are my UEFI ssttings,. Once the video stops, it took another 2mins 30 to boot. Does this every time now.


User avatar
Enforcer-J
Posts: 6511
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 11:16 pm
Location: right on your A.R.S.E.

Re: Errors

Postby Enforcer-J » Fri Jul 29, 2016 10:26 pm

Have you tried the uefi bios without a raid. Id give that a go and see if its specifically the raid config causing issues

User avatar
NeilPearson
Prize Winning ARSE
Posts: 7167
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: Neil'sville
Contact:

Re: Errors

Postby NeilPearson » Sat Jul 30, 2016 1:29 am

I'll delete the raid in the bios. Nothing was on it apart from movies. It's lost now when I update the bios.

User avatar
NeilPearson
Prize Winning ARSE
Posts: 7167
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: Neil'sville
Contact:

Re: Errors

Postby NeilPearson » Sat Jul 30, 2016 1:31 am

So I just had a bsod. And it was this message.

page fault in nonpaged area


There was more but it disappeared before I had the chance to read it

User avatar
NeilPearson
Prize Winning ARSE
Posts: 7167
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:31 pm
Location: Neil'sville
Contact:

Re: Errors

Postby NeilPearson » Wed Aug 03, 2016 7:49 pm

Im guessing its a HDD. I took one out and boot was 20 seconds.

User avatar
AstrO
Help Desk Expert
Posts: 4790
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 9:28 pm
Location: Adelaide
Contact:

Re: Errors

Postby AstrO » Thu Aug 04, 2016 8:33 am

The test I always use as a base is intel burn test. That will detect CPU and memory errors fairly quickly.

From there i would usually start removing hardware until I was left with the basics.

Note that raid will mask drive errors in a situation like yours.


Return to “Tech stuff”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ysu and 2 guests