Night-time building photo advice

ARSE's photographers and arts forum
Big Kev
Clean as a Whistle
Clean as a Whistle

Night-time building photo advice

Post by Big Kev »

I might have to get some nice moody night shots of the building I work in to go on our website.

The boss wants things along the lines of the one I've linked below.

The colours are nice and rich in shots like this that I see all the time online but I have no experience of taking them. Am I right in thinking it's actually quite a long exposure (maybe 30s) to really pull out the light from the darker areas rather than a higher iso, big aperture, short exposure shot? The light sparkles left of centre and the fountain are a bit of a give away for my thinking there. So I'm thinking a middling to small aperture (F16), low ISO (200) and 30-60secs? Am I in the right ballpark?

ARSE Biscuits! Driftu Kingu!
My Flickr Stream
mole2k

Re: Night-time building photo advice

Post by mole2k »

I would say your in the right ballpark with those, I would probably be taking several exposures to blend together too so you can further expand the dynamic range and flatten the natural contrast!
DexterPunk
Busted ARSE

Post by DexterPunk »

I would also say that's about right. Keep your ISO as low as possible for a cleaner image. You might be surprised how late you need to shoot to get the contrast relatively even. So keep going until it's pretty much dark. Hopefully you're not shooting towards the west where the sun will be setting, it makes it a bit harder to control contrast. Doing something like Mole mentioned would be needed. Look into bracketing, and setup your camera to do that.

Most modern cameras will have the dynamic range to pull that kind of scene out of one image though (depending on the conditions). Mole needs to upgrade! :P if you need help with the editing side of things (which will likely be needing a bit of work) hit me up on Facebook and I can help you out.
mole2k

Post by mole2k »