Connecting to a WLAN....

Computer and electronic gizmo support.
plastik8

Connecting to a WLAN....

Post by plastik8 »

Well I've finally got around to connecting the 5102G (Wireless ADSL2+ modem + router).

I've set up a test WLAN, with no encryption. It shows up fine on my laptop. I go to connect using the standard windows wireless network connection manager, and it just comes up with a little window, saying it's connecting for about 60seconds, then just defaults back to the wireless network selection screen...

There's really no other options in either the Router/Modem or the laptop... Only things I could change would be the Channels (2412,2417,2422mhz etc. etc.).

I'm a complete noob to WLAN'ing... Anyone got any clues?

If you need more details, or some print screens, let me know.

Thanks in advance :yes:
Image[url=steam://friends/add/76561197971333750]Image[/url]
Shonky

Post by Shonky »

Only thing that comes to mind right now, is the DHCP server enabled on the router, and is your wireless adaptor setup to obtain an IP address automatically?
plastik8

Post by plastik8 »

SHoNKY wrote:Only thing that comes to mind right now, is the DHCP server enabled on the router, and is your wireless adaptor setup to obtain an IP address automatically?
Automatic IP address: Check
DHCP enabled: Check (I think)......

Might try to connect with a different pc or laptop.
plastik8

Post by plastik8 »

OK, it worked once after I restarted the router.

I then turned on 128bit encryption, rebooted router AND laptop, now when I go to connect, it comes up with:

"Windows is unable to connect to the selected network. The network may no longer be in range. Please refresh the list of available networks, and try to connect again."

AAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHH I HATE WIRELESS NETWORKS!!!
Doso

Post by Doso »

wouldnt you need to rescan for the network then reconnect to it and then enter the new encryption key to gain access to the network?
plastik8

Post by plastik8 »